Rangers International FC became champions of the Nigeria Premier Football League (NPFL) for the eighth time after defeating Bendel Insurance 2-0 on Sunday evening at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium in Enugu.

The Flying Antelopes won the title in 1974, 1975, 1977, 1981, 1982, 1984, and 2016. They secured victory on Match Day 37 as their title rivals, Enyimba and Remo Stars, failed to win their respective games.

Before the game, Rangers were on 64 points, while Remo Stars and Enyimba were on 62 and 60 points, respectively. Pundits expected the title to be decided on the last day. However, an in-form Sunshine Stars F.C. denied Remo the needed win by defeating them 2-1 at home. Similarly, league newcomers Sporting Lagos defeated Enyimba 2-1 at home in a bid to avoid relegation.

Coach Fidelis Ilechukwu, who had previously come close to winning the title with MFM and Plateau United, finally claimed the top prize, cementing his place in Nigerian football history.